Idaho Court Records
What is Child Support, and When does it Occur in Idaho?
Child support in Idaho is an ongoing payment that a parent is obligated to make for the financial upkeep of their minor child. The state court establishes a child support order in a proceeding involving divorce or child support action. On the court’s order, either or both parents will pay a particular amount for child support.
Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching more straightforward, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the document or person involved
Third-party sites are independent of government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party websites may vary.
What is Idaho Child Support?
According to Idaho child support laws (Section 32–706),, child support matters occur due to the termination of marital relationships or if a parent owes a duty of support to the child. The court orders child support and the parent with the support obligation will pay a reasonable amount of money that can cover some necessities. Child Support payments are continuous and stop when the child attains the age of eighteen. Relevant factors that the court considers in child custody matters include:
- The child’s financial means
- Both of the parents ‘financial means, obligations, and needs
- The child’s standard of living during the marital relationship
- The physical and psychological needs of the child
- The child’s educational needs and medical/health coverage
What Does Child Support Cover in Idaho?
Child support in Idaho covers the necessities of the minor child. In proceedings involving a minor parent, a person can owe child support duty to the minor parent. Expenses that child support covers in the state are:
- Medical care: Child support caters to the medical expenses of the minor child such as dental healthcare.
- Educational support: Child support is also used for the minor’s education expenses. Generally, this may end when the child reaches eighteen years of age. The court can also order child support for education to continue till the child is nineteen or leaves high school, whichever is sooner.
- Child care cost: Expenses covered by the child support also includes basic child care services such as payment for babysitters or nannies.
What is the Average Child Support Payment in Idaho?
The average child support in Idaho is determined by the income generated by the parents. Typically, the state follows the Income Share Model to calculate this. The model uses an economic table to determine the monthly child support cost and the percentage of the cost that each parent will pay. The non-custodial parent usually pays the higher percentage of the support expenses.
The Idaho Child Support Guidelines provides an economic table that shows the child support payment by each parent, based on their income and the number of kids they have. Generally, a parent earning between $4,000 to $6,000 pays a child support amount of $375 for the first child. However, the least child support amount in the state is $50 per child.
The state’s Judicial Branch also provides a standard child support worksheet form that interested persons can use to accurately calculate and estimate the child support amount.
How do I apply for Child Support in Idaho?
Interested persons can file for child support in an Idaho District Court. Individuals are to obtain and complete the Petition for Child Support form. Upon filling the form with the required details, the petitioner files it with the clerk. Filing fees may apply following the court’s fee schedule. The petition is also served to the other parent. There is a twenty-one-day waiting period from the time the other party receives the petition before litigation processes occur.
Individuals can also download and complete the Child Service Department application or request it via U.S mail from (1–800) 356–9868. Persons can mail their application to:
Idaho Child Support Receipting Services
P.O Box 70008
Boise, ID 83707–0108
How Do I Get Out of Paying Child Support in Idaho?
Parents can get out of paying child support in Idaho automatically when the minor child reaches the age of eighteen. Parents who wish to terminate child support due to other reasons must provide substantial evidence for such action. The termination or modification of the support may arise from the parent’s plan to relocate to another country or a major change in parenting time.
At its discretion, the court may also modify the support terms, if the parent establishes that the application of the child support guidelines is unfair or inappropriate in their case.
What is Back Child Support in Idaho?
Back child support in Idaho is support payments that a parent obligated to pay failed to do so. Usually, the non-custodial parent owes back child support payments to the custodial parent. Interested persons can only collect back child support within five years, following the statute of limitations.
How Do I Get Back Child Support Paid in Idaho?
The Idaho Child Support Services are responsible for enforcing the orders and provisions of the child support laws. Individuals that want to get back child support paid in Idaho are to contact Child Support Services. Interested persons can apply for enforcement services by contacting the department phone line at (1–800) 356–9868. Alongside a filing fee of $25, parents can also file a mail to the address:
Idaho Child Support Receipting Services
P.O Box 70008
Boise, Idaho 83707–0108
Is there an Idaho Statutes of Limitation on Child Support?
Following the Idaho statutes, the statute of limitation on child support orders (entered on or after July 1, 2015) is ten years after the child turns eighteen, their emancipation, or death. For child support orders entered before July 1, 2015, the law prescribes a five-year period from emancipation, the day the child becomes eighteen or death.